omrumsworld

THE BEAST UNDER MY BED (Thursday, August 23, 2012)

When I was a little kid
There was a beast under my bed
No, not a product of my childish imagination!
I swear
He was there

A dark night it was
As all nights are
The household was sound asleep
I was turning in bed
Waiting for the sleep fairy
To shed her magic on me
When the moonlight leaked in through the window
Tapped on my shoulder saying
‘’Go ahead, little girl
Take a look at him
I’m here to support
And protect you
I will shoot my silver arrows in his eyes
If he ever dares to catch you
You know
He is totally powerless in light’’

A struggle took place
The Curiosity beat the Fear
I took a few steps away from the bed
And kneeled down to peek under
My body pulsating with each heartbeat
Mouth dried up
Eyes wide open

And I saw him

If you ask
What he looked like
I can’t describe
A dark creature he was
Very dark
Like the starless sky on the top of the Mountain
So vast but
No up no down
No right no left
There he was but
No limbs no head
No mouth no teeth
Only two greenish yellow lanterns
Lit in a far-away cabin
Gazing at me steadily
No, not the least friendly
But not like the one fixed on his prey
No emotion as far as I could tell

My heart beat to death
I jumped in my bed
Tucked in the quilt
Careful not to leave a finger out
I knew his territory extended only
To both sides of the bed
And under
Thus I got used to sleep like a mummy
Early or late
Winter or summer
Until the dawn smiled at me
Like a proud mother that
Her child returned home
In one-piece

Years went by
I grew up
And fell in love
Got married
I forgot all about the Beast
Until one night
When I bent down to pick up the bookmarker
Two lanterns hit the darkness
No limbs no head
No mouth no teeth
Gazing at me steadily
No, not the least friendly
But not like the one fixed on his prey
No emotion as far as I could tell

I swear
He was there

And I swear
He winked at me.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “THE BEAST UNDER MY BED (Thursday, August 23, 2012)

  1. I, too, believe the beast under the bed exists in just exactly the way you describe it. Thank you for another wonderful poem :))

Leave a Reply

